A portable extractor lives or dies on one unglamorous feature: whether the hose rinses itself out. Everything left inside a dirty hose is still there next time.
Everyone in this category says they tested twenty vacuums. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead is read the manuals, compile the published specifications, and work out what each machine costs to run for three years — the method is written out in full.
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend or the order we recommend it in. Full disclosure.
The short answer: the Hoover CleanSlate Plus. It is the only machine here that publishes its tank as an actual figure — 1.18 liters with 40 ounces of clean-solution capacity — alongside a 9.4 lb weight and a hose rinse tool that flushes the system with fresh water after use. Three of its rivals publish no tank capacity in any unit at all. If you want the lightest option, the Bissell Little Green Mini 4075 is 7 lb with a published 16-ounce tank; if the cord is what stops you reaching the mess, the Little Green Mini Cordless 4015 is the only cordless extractor on this site.
What a portable actually is, and what it is not
A portable carpet cleaner is a small extractor: it sprays a water-and-solution mix onto a spot, you agitate with a hand tool, and it vacuums the dirty liquid back out through a second tank. That last step — recovery — is what separates it from a steam cleaner, which applies vapor and recovers nothing, and from a wet/dry vac, which recovers liquid but cannot put solution down or agitate. Carpet cleaner versus wet/dry vac works that distinction through properly.
What a portable is not is a whole-room machine. Nobody finishes a living room with a 3-inch hand tool and roughly a liter of tank, and the people who try do it exactly once. The full-size question is a separate one, and carpet cleaner versus spot cleaner settles which size you actually need before you spend anything.
What we looked at
Whether the hose and tool self-rinse, published. This is the lead criterion and it is the one nobody shops on. Dirty solution left standing in a hose is what makes a portable smell, and a machine that smells is a machine that stops being used.
Published tank capacity, in a real unit. Only two of the five publish one. On a portable, tank size is the whole rhythm of the job — it decides how many trips to the sink a stain costs you.
Weight, because the entire point of a portable is carrying it to the mess within seconds. Published weights here run from 7 lb to 9.4 lb.
Tooling for the actual jobs. Pet accidents, upholstery, stairs and car interiors all want different heads, and the machines differ more on tools than on anything mechanical.
Whether it is corded, since a cord decides whether the machine reaches a stair tread or a back seat at all.
Formula dependency, because every extractor here publishes an ongoing formula requirement and that is the real running cost of owning one.
The figures, side by side
Every cell is the manufacturer's own published figure, or "Not published" where there is none.
Machine
Tank
Weight
Self-cleaning hose
Power
Hoover CleanSlate Plus
1.18 L dual, 40 oz clean
9.4 lb
Yes — hose rinse tool
Corded
Bissell Little Green Mini 4075
16 oz
7 lb
Not published
Corded
Bissell Little Green Pet Pro 3909
Extra-large, not stated in a unit
Not published
Yes — self-cleaning hose tool
Corded
Bissell Little Green Max Pet 3860
Two-tank, not stated in a unit
8.2 lb
Yes — one-touch hose and tool cleanout
Corded
Bissell Little Green Mini Cordless 4015
Not published
7 lb
Yes — HydroRinse
CORDLESS, up to 20 min
Three of these five publish no tank capacity in any usable unit. That is a genuine gap in what this category discloses, and it is why the one machine that does publish a figure ranks first.
#
Product
Best for
Score
Price
01
Hoover CleanSlate Plus Portable Spot CleanerA 40-ounce clean tank in a 9.4 lb body — more than double the Little Green Mini's capacity for spot work.
Bissell Little Green Mini Portable Carpet Cleaner (4075)7 lb, 16 ounces, and a self-cleaning hose tool — the machine most people should buy before a full-size extractor.
Bissell Little Green Pet Pro Portable Carpet Cleaner (3909)The Little Green with a bigger tank and Bissell's strongest published suction claim in the portable line.
Bissell Little Green Max Pet Portable Carpet Cleaner (3860)The self-cleaning stain tool is the feature that decides whether a portable gets used twice, and this is the cheapest machine here that publishes one alongside a pet hair tool.
Bissell Little Green Mini Cordless Portable Carpet Cleaner (4015)The only spot cleaner on this site with no cord, which matters more than any suction claim when the mess is on a stair tread or a back seat.
Ranked by our published rubric. On a portable, read the tank figure and the self-cleaning row before the score — two machines here publish no tank capacity at all, which is the number that decides how a spot clean actually feels.
01 · Biggest portable tank
Hoover CleanSlate Plus Portable Spot Cleaner
A 40-ounce clean tank in a 9.4 lb body — more than double the Little Green Mini's capacity for spot work.
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+40 oz clean capacity — a 7" wide tool with the tank to actually feed it
+Two tool widths, so it covers a rug as well as a crevice
+Hose rinse, which is the same smell-prevention idea as Bissell's HydroRinse
Where it stops
−9.4 lb is heavier than the Bissell Little Green Mini for the same category of job
−No powered brush
−Bigger footprint than a Little Green in a cupboard
Who it is for
People who use a spot cleaner often enough to resent a 16-ounce tank.
Skip it if
You want the smallest possible thing that lives under a sink. The Little Green Mini is 2.4 lb lighter and physically smaller.
Our score: 6.7 out of 10
Tank capacity7.0
Brush system4.0
Tools and reach8.0
Weight and handling7.5
Running cost7.0
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
02 · Best spot cleaner
Bissell Little Green Mini Portable Carpet Cleaner (4075)
7 lb, 16 ounces, and a self-cleaning hose tool — the machine most people should buy before a full-size extractor.
4" tough stain tool with a removable lens, plus the HydroRinse self-cleaning hose tool
Formula
8 oz Bissell Little Green formula included
Power
Corded electric
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+7 lb and stores in a cupboard, so it comes out for a single spill instead of waiting for a deep-clean day
+HydroRinse flushes the hose, which is the thing that makes portable extractors smell
+Handles car interiors, pet beds and upholstery as well as carpet
Where it stops
−16 ounces is a few spots, not a room
−No powered brush — you provide the scrubbing
−It is not a substitute for a full-size machine and does not claim to be
Who it is for
Almost everyone. Most carpet problems are spots, and most people buy a 20-pound machine to deal with them.
Skip it if
You want to deep clean a whole carpeted house. This is a spot machine; use it alongside a rental, not instead of one.
Our score: 6.6 out of 10
Tank capacity3.0
Brush system4.0
Tools and reach8.5
Weight and handling9.5
Running cost8.0
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
03 · Best portable for pet accidents
Bissell Little Green Pet Pro Portable Carpet Cleaner (3909)
The Little Green with a bigger tank and Bissell's strongest published suction claim in the portable line.
Extra-large clean and dirty tanks — 8 oz formula included
Suction claim
Manufacturer states the strongest suction in its class, versus the leading competition
Tools
Crevice tool, pet hair removal tool, self-cleaning hose tool
Formula
Designed around Triple Action Pet Pro Oxy Spot & Stain with urine eliminator and StainProtect
Power
Corded
Weight
Not published on the listing
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+Bigger tanks than the Mini, so a full room of spots is one fill
+Pet-specific tools are in the box rather than sold on
+Self-cleaning hose tool carried over from the Mini
Where it stops
−Bissell does not publish a machine weight or an exact tank volume for this model
−The suction claim is Bissell's own against an unnamed competitor
−Pet formula is the priciest of the Bissell consumables
Who it is for
Homes with a puppy, an old dog, or a cat with opinions.
Skip it if
The messes are dry rather than wet. For tracked-in dirt a vacuum is the tool; extractors are for liquids and set stains.
Our score: 6.6 out of 10
Tank capacity5.5
Brush system4.0
Tools and reach8.5
Weight and handling8.5
Running cost6.5
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
04 · Most tools in the box
Bissell Little Green Max Pet Portable Carpet Cleaner (3860)
The self-cleaning stain tool is the feature that decides whether a portable gets used twice, and this is the cheapest machine here that publishes one alongside a pet hair tool.
Two-tank, clean and dirty separated. Capacity not published in ounces or liters
Suction claim
30% more powerful than "the competitive portable deep cleaner" — the machine it is compared against is not named
Self-cleaning
One-touch hose and tool cleanout on the Tough Stain Tool
Tools
Self-cleaning Tough Stain Tool and a specialized pet hair removal tool
Formula
8 oz trial of PET PRO OXY with urine eliminator; ongoing purchase required
Hose and cord
Published as longer than the brand's smaller models; no length stated in feet
Warranty
Not published on the listing
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+A self-cleaning hose and tool rinse, published — the single feature that stops a portable turning into a smelly cupboard ornament
+A dedicated pet hair removal tool in the box, which the cheaper Little Green Mini does not include
+Two-tank separation is published, so dirty water never goes back down the hose
Where it stops
−Bissell publishes no tank capacity in any unit, so it cannot be compared with the Hoover's stated 1.18 liters
−The 30% suction claim names no competitor and no test method, which makes it unverifiable
−No warranty length published on the listing
Who it is for
Pet households that want the rinse-out tooling without stepping up to the larger Pet Pro, and are willing to accept an unpublished tank size.
Skip it if
You need to know how many trips to the sink a job will take. With no published tank figure, the one number that decides how a portable feels to use is missing.
Our score: 6.5 out of 10
Tank capacity5.0
Brush system4.0
Tools and reach9.0
Weight and handling8.0
Running cost6.5
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
05 · Only cordless portable here
Bissell Little Green Mini Cordless Portable Carpet Cleaner (4015)
The only spot cleaner on this site with no cord, which matters more than any suction claim when the mess is on a stair tread or a back seat.
Cordless. BatteryBoost+ rated up to 20 minutes of cleaning
Weight
7 lb
Dimensions
19.25 in wide x 11 in long x 13.4 in high
Tools
4-inch Tough Stain Tool with a removable lens, plus a HydroRinse self-cleaning hose tool
Formula
8 oz Little Green formula included; ongoing purchase required
Tank capacity
Not published
Suction figure
Not published in any unit
Warranty
Not published on the listing
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+No cord at all, which is the whole argument on stairs, in a car and anywhere without a nearby outlet
+7 lb — the lightest extractor of any kind on this site
+HydroRinse self-cleaning hose tool is published, so the hose gets flushed rather than left wet and dirty
Where it stops
−20 minutes is the published ceiling, and a battery that fades ends this machine the way it ends any cordless
−Neither tank capacity nor any suction figure is published, so two of the three numbers that decide a portable are missing
−No warranty length published on the listing
Who it is for
Stairs, cars and upstairs bedrooms — anywhere the cord, not the suction, is the thing that stops you reaching for the machine.
Skip it if
The job is a whole room or a recurring deep clean. Twenty rated minutes and an unpublished tank make this a spot machine, and running out mid-stain is worse than dragging a cord.
Our score: 6.5 out of 10
Tank capacity4.0
Brush system4.0
Tools and reach8.5
Weight and handling9.5
Running cost6.5
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
The cordless one is a real category, not a gimmick
The Little Green Mini Cordless 4015 is the only extractor of any kind on this site with no cord, and on this particular machine that is worth more than it sounds. The jobs a portable exists for are disproportionately in places without a convenient outlet: a stair tread halfway up a flight, the back seat of a car on a driveway, a bedroom at the far end of a landing. A cord turns each of those into a hunt for an extension lead, and a hunt for an extension lead is how a stain dries.
The cost is published and real: up to 20 minutes on BatteryBoost+, no published tank figure, and no published suction figure. Twenty minutes is plenty for a spot and nowhere near enough for a sofa. And a cordless extractor has the same long-term problem every cordless machine on this site has — the cell is the component that ends it, and nobody in this category publishes a cycle rating.
The one to skip
Skip the Bissell Little Green Mini 4075 if you have pets. It is the cheapest machine here, it publishes an actual tank figure (16 ounces) where dearer rivals do not, and at 7 lb it is genuinely grab-and-go. But it publishes no self-cleaning hose tool, and pet accidents are exactly the job where residue left inside a hose turns into a smell you cannot get out. For crumbs, coffee and mud it is a sensible cheap buy. For a dog, spend the difference on a machine that rinses itself.
And treat the Little Green Pet Pro 3909's "extra-large" tanks with the scepticism the wording deserves. It is the dearest machine here and it publishes neither a tank capacity nor a weight in any comparable unit — which on a page where the whole argument is capacity and portability means the two figures that matter most are simply absent.
What it costs to keep running
Every machine here publishes an ongoing formula requirement, and formula is the real cost of owning an extractor — not electricity, which is trivial, and not filters, which these machines do not have. Four of the five ship a trial-size bottle (8 oz on the Bissells, a trial oxy solution on the Hoover), which runs out quickly and is designed to.
We are not going to put a dollar figure on refills, because refill pricing moves and this site does not publish a price it has not verified through its own live lookup. What we will say is the shape: a portable used on spots uses a fraction of what a full-size whole-room clean does, which is part of why a portable plus an occasional rental beats owning a full-size machine for most households. Rent versus buy prices that out.
What we cannot tell you
How much soil any of these lifts. Only one machine on this entire site publishes a cleaning claim with a named test standard behind it — Shark's CarpetXpert, citing ASTM F2828 — and none of the portables here do. The suction claims that exist are comparative marketing with no method attached: Bissell's 3860 states 30% more power than "the competitive portable deep cleaner" without naming which one. We have not used any of these machines. Our method page is explicit about where that leaves us.
How to choose in one paragraph
If you want the machine that publishes the most, buy the Hoover CleanSlate Plus — a stated 1.18-liter dual tank, a stated 9.4 lb, and a hose that rinses itself. If a pet is the reason you are shopping, the Little Green Max Pet 3860 adds a dedicated pet hair tool and a one-touch cleanout for about the same money. If the mess is usually somewhere without an outlet, buy the cordless 4015 and accept 20 minutes. If you just want the cheapest thing that genuinely works on crumbs and coffee, the Little Green Mini 4075 is 7 lb and publishes its tank. And if what you actually need is the whole carpet done, none of these is the machine — the full-size roundup is.
Common questions
What is the best portable carpet cleaner?+−
On published specifications, the Hoover CleanSlate Plus: it is the only machine here that states its tank as a real figure — 1.18 liters with 40 ounces of clean-solution capacity — at a published 9.4 lb, with a hose rinse tool that flushes the system with fresh water after use. Three rivals publish no tank capacity in any unit at all.
Do portable carpet cleaners actually work on pet urine?+−
They are the machines built for it, provided you get to the mess quickly — extraction is what pulls liquid back out of the pile rather than spreading it. What matters almost as much is a self-cleaning hose, published as HydroRinse by Bissell and a hose rinse tool by Hoover, because residue left in a hose after a urine job is what makes a machine smell. No extractor can fix a stain that soaked in and dried weeks ago.
Is a cordless portable carpet cleaner worth it?+−
For stairs, cars and rooms without a nearby outlet, genuinely yes — that is where the jobs are and a cord is what stops you reaching them in time. The Bissell Little Green Mini Cordless 4015 is the only cordless extractor on this site, published at up to 20 minutes on BatteryBoost+ and 7 lb. The trade is the battery, plus no published tank or suction figure.
How big a tank does a portable carpet cleaner need?+−
Bigger than most manufacturers will tell you, which is the problem — three of the five machines here publish no capacity at all. Where it is published, the range is 16 ounces (Bissell Little Green Mini) to 1.18 liters (Hoover CleanSlate Plus). Tank size decides how many trips to the sink a stain costs, which is the whole rhythm of using one.
Can a portable carpet cleaner do a whole room?+−
Not practically. A 3-inch hand tool and roughly a liter of tank against 200 square feet is a series of trips to the sink rather than a cleaning session. Full-size machines publish four to five times the tank and a full cleaning path for that job — or you rent one, which for one or two deep cleans a year usually costs less than owning.
What does a self-cleaning hose tool do?+−
It flushes the internal hose and tool with clean water after a job, so the dirty solution you just extracted is not left standing inside the machine until next time. Bissell publishes it as HydroRinse, Hoover as a hose rinse tool. It is the least glamorous feature on this page and probably the one that decides whether you still own the machine in two years.
Sources
Manufacturer-published specifications — Every runtime, wattage, capacity, weight, filtration and warranty figure quoted on this page is the manufacturer's own published number for that model, retrieved September 1, 2026. Where a manufacturer publishes no figure, the page says 'Not published' rather than estimating one.
Sweep & Suction — How We Pick — Our published method, including the scoring rubric, the three-year running-cost formula and an explicit statement of what published specifications cannot tell you.