Seven hand vacs for the house, separated by the two numbers the box prints smallest: how long it charges for each minute it runs, and whether the pet tool has a motor in it or just bristles.
Everyone in this category says they tested twenty vacuums. We have not tested any, and we say so. What we do instead is read the manuals, compile the published specifications, and work out what each machine costs to run for three years — the method is written out in full.
We earn a commission if you buy through the links on this page, at no extra cost to you. It never changes what we recommend or the order we recommend it in. Full disclosure.
The short answer: the Black+Decker dustbuster furbuster (HHVK515JP07). It publishes a motorized anti-tangle pet brush, a boost mode, a 20-minute runtime, a four-hour charge and a two-year warranty — everything the Dyson publishes except the air-watt figure and the extra half hour, for a fraction of the price. If nobody in the house sheds, the 16-volt dustbuster (CHV1410L) does the crumbs-and-counters job with a 605 ml bowl for the least money here. The Dyson Car+Boat is the flagship: 115 air watts is the only suction figure on this page in a comparable unit, and it costs several times as much as either.
What a hand vac is for, and what it is not
A hand vac is the machine you reach for when getting the real vacuum out is more effort than the mess deserves. Crumbs on a counter, a spilled plant pot, cat litter around the tray, hair on the couch, the stair treads, the inside of a car door. The whole value is in the four seconds between noticing the mess and dealing with it, which is why the published specifications that matter are not the ones that decide a floor vacuum.
It is not a floor vacuum, and none of the seven machines here should be bought as one. It is also not the same purchase as a car vacuum, even though every listing on this page says "car" somewhere in its title. A car is a hard box you clean in five-minute bursts with a 12-volt socket a foot away; the car vacuum roundup covers the corded 12-volt and wet/dry machines that make sense there and nowhere else. This page is about the house, where the machine lives on a dock or in a drawer and the competition is a cordless stick that converts to a handheld.
The two specifications that decide it
First: does the pet tool have a motor in it? Airflow lifts loose hair off a hard surface. It does not pull hair that has bonded into a fabric weave, and the couch, the car seat and the stair carpet are all fabric. A pet tool with bristles helps a little. A pet tool with a driven brush is a different category of tool, and on this page exactly three machines publish one: the Black+Decker furbuster, the Dyson and the Shark UltraCyclone CH951. The Shark WANDVAC's pet tool and the Shark CH701's pet tool are bristles. The listings do not make that distinction obvious, so we make it on every card.
Second: how long it charges for every minute it runs. A floor vacuum's runtime decides whether you finish the house. A hand vac's runtime decides almost nothing, because the jobs are two minutes long. What decides a hand vac is whether it is charged when you reach for it, and that is the ratio of charge time to runtime. On this page that ratio runs from 12 to 1 (the furbuster: 240 minutes of charging for 20 minutes of running) to 24 to 1 (the Shark CH951: 240 minutes for 10). Three machines publish no charge time at all, which for a product whose whole job is being ready is a strange thing to leave out.
What we looked at
Whether anything on the nozzle turns. Three machines here publish a motorized tool. That single specification separates a hair machine from a crumb machine, and we say which is which on every card.
Charge time against runtime. Both figures are published on four of the seven machines. We show both rather than the flattering one.
Bowl capacity, in whatever unit the maker printed. Capacities here run from 0.1 quarts to 0.18 gallons, in three units. Two listings print a weight where the volume should be, and we write "Not published" rather than convert a guess.
Weight, as listed. 1.5 lb to 4.2 lb. In a machine you hold at arm's length above a couch cushion, that spread is the whole handling story.
Warranty. Six of the seven publish a term. One Shark listing prints the single word "Warranty." and nothing else.
Suction claims, and what they are worth. One machine publishes air watts. One names a test standard without a number. The other five publish wattage and amperage fields that in several cases cannot describe a battery hand vac at all.
Hand vacs are scored on the same rubric as car vacuums on this site, because the handling question is identical in a house and in a car: can the nozzle get into the tight space, and does the machine work away from a wall outlet. Our method page lists the five metrics.
The published figures side by side
Every figure is from the manufacturer's own listing. "Not published" means the listing gives no figure.
Machine
Runtime
Charge time
Bowl
Weight
Motorized tool
Warranty
Black+Decker furbuster HHVK515JP07
20 min
240 min
0.18 gal
2.6 lb
Yes
2 years
Black+Decker dustbuster CHV1410L
11 min
240 min
605 ml
2.6 lb
No
2 years
Dyson Car+Boat
Up to 50 min, footnoted
Not published
0.14 gal
4.2 lb
Yes
2 years
Black+Decker dustbuster BDH2000L
Minimum 15 min
240 min
Not published in a usable unit
3.5 lb
No
2 years
Shark UltraCyclone Pet Pro+ CH951
10 min
240 min
0.1 qt as printed
2.8 lb stated; 3.8 lb listed
Yes
2 years
Shark WANDVAC Power Pet WV410BL
Not reliably published
Not published
0.1 qt
1.5 lb
No
2 years
Shark Cyclone PET CH701
10 min
Not published
Not published in a usable unit
1.5 lb
No
Not stated
Retrieved from each retail listing on September 18, 2026 (the Shark CH951 figures were read on September 2 and are unchanged). We have not timed, weighed or measured any of these machines.
Two things stand out. First, the Black+Decker machines publish everything — runtime, charge time, bowl, weight and a two-year term — and the two Shark machines newest to this page publish the least. Second, the most expensive machine here publishes the least about being ready: the Dyson lists neither a charge time nor a noise rating, which the cheapest Black+Decker on the page manages to do.
What the suction claims on this shelf are worth
One machine here publishes a suction figure you can compare with anything: the Dyson's 115 air watts, which measures work done at the nozzle. One machine names a test standard without a number: the Shark WANDVAC Power Pet claims "the most suction of any cordless hand vacuum under 1.5 lbs" per ASTM F558, which is a real, checkable method — and then does not print what it measured. Everyone else publishes nothing in any unit that describes moving air.
What each listing prints as a power figure, transcribed as printed
Machine
As printed
What it tells you
Dyson Car+Boat
115 AW
The only comparable figure on the page
Shark WANDVAC Power Pet WV410BL
"Most suction of any cordless hand vacuum under 1.5 lbs", ASTM F558; 14.4 V in one field and 10.85 V in another
A checkable method with no measured figure, and a battery voltage the listing gives two values for
Black+Decker furbuster
20 V; "20 watts" and "1 A"
The voltage is real. The wattage and amperage fields are not credible for this machine
Black+Decker CHV1410L
16 V; wattage field prints "23" with no unit
The voltage is real. The rest is noise
Black+Decker BDH2000L
20 V; "24 watts" and "20 amps"
20 amps at 20 volts would be 400 watts, which contradicts the 24-watt field on the same listing
Shark CH951
10.8 V; 80 W
A consumption figure, not a suction one
Shark CH701
7.2 V; "65 watts" and "9 amps"
9 amps at 7.2 volts is 65 watts, so the fields agree with each other — and describe electricity drawn, not dirt lifted
Battery voltage is the one figure on this shelf that is comparable across brands, and it runs from 7.2 V to 20 V here. It is a proxy for motor power, not a measurement of it. The argument in full is in why suction numbers are mostly meaningless.
A hand vac, or a stick that converts?
Almost every cordless stick vacuum on this site converts to a handheld, and if you already own one, that is the honest first answer. The budget cordless roundup ranks machines that do both jobs, and several of them publish a motorized mini tool for upholstery. A dedicated hand vac wins on three things only: weight in the hand (1.5 to 2.6 lb here against 5 to 8 lb for a stick with the wand off), a dock in the kitchen so it is always where the mess is, and price, since most of this page costs a fraction of a full stick. If the stick lives in a closet upstairs, a hand vac on the counter gets used ten times as often. If the stick is already in the kitchen, you may not need one.
#
Product
Best for
Score
Price
01
Black+Decker dustbuster furbuster AdvancedClean+ Pet Hand Vacuum (HHVK515JP07)A motorized anti-tangle pet brush, a boost mode, 20 minutes of rated runtime, a four-hour charge and a two-year warranty — the fullest published spec sheet on this shelf outside the Dyson, at a fraction of its price.
Black+Decker dustbuster AdvancedClean 16V Hand Vacuum (CHV1410L)The classic dustbuster: a 605 ml bowl, a rotating nozzle, a two-year warranty and a charging base, at a price where most of the shelf is unbranded.
Dyson Car+Boat Handheld VacuumThe reference point for this shelf: the only hand vac that publishes suction in air watts (115 AW), plus up to 50 minutes, two power modes and whole-machine filtration — at several times the price of everything else here.
Black+Decker dustbuster AdvancedClean 20V Hand Vacuum (BDH2000L)The 20-volt dustbuster without the pet brush. It is the one hand vac here that states its runtime as a minimum rather than a maximum, and that honesty is most of its case over the 16-volt model.
Shark UltraCyclone Pet Pro Plus Cordless Hand Vacuum (CH951)A self-cleaning pet power brush and a two-year warranty from the brand that dominates this shelf, sold with a ten-minute battery you have to plan around.
Amazon listed this as out of stock on our last check. We have left it in the ranking because the machine is still worth the recommendation — but do not expect to buy it today.
Shark WANDVAC Power Pet Cordless Hand Vacuum (WV410BL)The only hand vac on this site whose suction claim names a test standard (ASTM F558), in a 1.5 lb body with a boost mode and a dock — and a runtime the listing manages to contradict itself on.
Shark Cyclone PET Handheld Vacuum (CH701)A 1.5 lb hand vac that charges from any USB port, with a washable filter and two tools — and a 7.2-volt battery, a ten-minute runtime and a warranty the listing does not state.
Amazon listed this as out of stock on our last check. We have left it in the ranking because the machine is still worth the recommendation — but do not expect to buy it today.
Ranked by our published rubric for car and hand vacuums. Three machines here have a motorized brush and four do not; if pet hair on furniture is the job, that column matters more than the score.
01 · Best overall hand vac
Black+Decker dustbuster furbuster AdvancedClean+ Pet Hand Vacuum (HHVK515JP07)
A motorized anti-tangle pet brush, a boost mode, 20 minutes of rated runtime, a four-hour charge and a two-year warranty — the fullest published spec sheet on this shelf outside the Dyson, at a fraction of its price.
Standard plus POWERBOOST, at the touch of a button
Agitation
Anti-tangle motorized pet brush with rubber bristles, plus an XL extendable crevice tool
Dust bowl
0.18 gallons, with one-touch emptying
Filtration
Washable pre-filter and filter. No HEPA claim and no test standard published
Weight
2.6 lb as listed
Rated noise
78 dB
Charge time
240 minutes, on a jack-plug charger rather than a dock
Warranty
2-year limited
Suction in air watts or Pa
Not published. The listing's wattage field prints 20 watts and 1 amp, which describe nothing useful about a 20-volt hand vac
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+A driven, anti-tangle pet brush is in the box, which is the one attachment that lifts hair out of a couch rather than skating over it
+20 minutes is the longest rated runtime on this page after the Dyson, and it charges in four hours
+0.18 gallons is the biggest published bowl on this page, and it empties with one touch
Where it stops
−It charges from a jack plug, so there is no dock to park it on and no onboard tool storage
−No HEPA claim and no test standard, on a machine sold specifically for pet hair
−No suction figure in any usable unit, so it cannot be compared numerically with the Dyson's 115 AW
Who it is for
A house with a dog or a cat and upholstered furniture, where the hand vac's real job is hair on the couch, the stairs and the car seat.
Skip it if
Nobody in the house sheds. The motorized brush is most of what you are paying for over the 16-volt dustbuster below, and on crumbs and dust the cheaper machine does the same job.
Our score: 8.3 out of 10
Published power7.5
Runtime8.5
Bin and filtration8.0
In-car handling8.5
Running cost9.0
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
02 · Biggest bowl under $50
Black+Decker dustbuster AdvancedClean 16V Hand Vacuum (CHV1410L)
The classic dustbuster: a 605 ml bowl, a rotating nozzle, a two-year warranty and a charging base, at a price where most of the shelf is unbranded.
Rotating slim nozzle, with a pull-out crevice tool and a flip-up brush built in
Filtration
Washable cartridge filter, with cyclonic action published as keeping dust off it. No HEPA claim
Weight
2.6 lb as listed
Rated noise
78 dB
Charge time
240 minutes, on a charging station
Warranty
2-year limited
Agitation
None. No motorized tool
Suction in air watts or Pa
Not published. The listing's wattage field prints "23" with no unit
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+605 ml is the largest published bowl here after the furbuster, on the cheapest machine on the page
+The crevice tool and brush are built into the nozzle, so there is nothing to lose
+Two-year warranty and a washable filter, which is the whole running-cost argument at this price
Where it stops
−11 minutes of runtime for four hours of charging
−No motorized brush, so hair bonded into upholstery is not its job
−78 dB is a real noise in a kitchen, and the listing publishes no HEPA claim
Who it is for
A kitchen counter, a set of stairs and a car door pocket — the everyday crumb-and-grit jobs a hand vac was invented for.
Skip it if
Pet hair on furniture is the reason you are shopping. Suction alone lifts hair off a hard surface; it does not pull it out of a weave, and this machine has nothing that turns.
Our score: 7.7 out of 10
Published power6.5
Runtime6.5
Bin and filtration7.5
In-car handling8.5
Running cost9.5
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
03 · The hand-vac flagship
Dyson Car+Boat Handheld Vacuum
The reference point for this shelf: the only hand vac that publishes suction in air watts (115 AW), plus up to 50 minutes, two power modes and whole-machine filtration — at several times the price of everything else here.
Up to 50 minutes, footnoted. The footnote's condition is not printed on the listing
Modes
Two power modes
Agitation
Mini motorized tool, published as Dyson's cleaner-head technology in a smaller head
Filtration
Whole-machine filtration, stated to trap 99.99% of particles as small as 0.3 microns. No test standard named
Bin
0.14 gallons
Weight
4.2 lb as listed
Tools
Mini motorized tool, combination tool, crevice tool reaching seven inches into gaps as narrow as half an inch
Warranty
2 years, with lifetime Dyson support
Charge time
Not published
Rated noise
Not published
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+115 air watts is the only suction figure on this page in a unit that describes work done at the head, and the only one comparable to anything else
+Up to 50 minutes is two and a half times the next-longest rated runtime here
+A motorized tool, two power modes and a filtration percentage with a particle size attached — nobody else here publishes all three
Where it stops
−Several times the price of the Black+Decker that also has a motorized pet brush
−4.2 lb is the heaviest machine on this page, in a category where 1.5 to 2.6 lb is normal
−The 50-minute figure carries a footnote whose condition is not printed, and no charge time or noise rating is published
Who it is for
Someone who wants the most powerful hand vac with a published, comparable figure to prove it, and is content to pay flagship money for a machine used a few minutes a day.
Skip it if
Your budget for a hand vac is under about $100. Every other machine here clears that bar, and the two with motorized brushes do the pet-hair job the Dyson is bought for.
Our score: 7.5 out of 10
Published power9.5
Runtime8.5
Bin and filtration8.0
In-car handling6.5
Running cost5.0
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
04 · Publishes a minimum runtime
Black+Decker dustbuster AdvancedClean 20V Hand Vacuum (BDH2000L)
The 20-volt dustbuster without the pet brush. It is the one hand vac here that states its runtime as a minimum rather than a maximum, and that honesty is most of its case over the 16-volt model.
A minimum of 15 minutes, per the listing's own wording
Battery
20 V MAX lithium-ion
Nozzle
Rotating slim nozzle, with an extendable crevice tool and a flip-up brush
Filtration
Washable cloth filter (VF110), with cyclonic action. No HEPA claim
Dust bowl
Not published in a usable unit. The capacity field prints "1.3 pounds"
Weight
3.5 lb as listed
Rated noise
80 dB
Charge time
4 hours, on a charging dock with an indicator light
Warranty
2-year limited
Agitation
None. No motorized tool
Suction in air watts or Pa
Not published. The listing prints 24 watts and 20 amps, which cannot both describe this machine
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+"A minimum 15 mins run time" is the only runtime on this page stated as a floor rather than a ceiling
+20 volts, a charging dock and a two-year warranty from the brand with the widest hand-vac parts network
+The extendable crevice tool and brush are built in, as on the 16-volt model
Where it stops
−3.5 lb is nearly a pound heavier than the 16-volt dustbuster and the furbuster, for four more minutes of runtime
−Bowl capacity is published as "1.3 pounds", which is not a volume and cannot be compared with anything
−Costs about as much as the furbuster while having no motorized brush
Who it is for
A household without pets that wants the longer-running dustbuster and a dock to keep it on, and does not need anything that turns.
Skip it if
The furbuster is within reach. Same voltage, same warranty, a motorized pet brush and a longer rated runtime, for similar money — the only thing this model adds is a dock.
Our score: 7.1 out of 10
Published power7.0
Runtime7.5
Bin and filtration5.5
In-car handling7.5
Running cost8.0
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
05 · Best for ground-in pet hair
Shark UltraCyclone Pet Pro Plus Cordless Hand Vacuum (CH951)
A self-cleaning pet power brush and a two-year warranty from the brand that dominates this shelf, sold with a ten-minute battery you have to plan around.
Amazon listed this as out of stock on our last check. We have left it in the ranking because the machine is still worth the recommendation — but do not expect to buy it today.
2.8 lb as stated by Shark; the same listing's item weight field says 3.8 lb
Agitation
Detachable self-cleaning pet power brush, plus crevice and scrubbing brushes
Dust cup
Published as 0.1 quarts in the specification table, which does not match the model's own XL dust cup naming
Filtration
Washable filter. No HEPA claim and no test standard published
Rated noise
80 dB
Charge time
240 minutes
Warranty
2-year limited
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+The self-cleaning pet power brush is a driven brush you do not have to cut hair off, which is the specification that matters in a dog's car
+Two-year warranty, matched here only by Black+Decker, from a brand that still sells parts for old models
+Two cyclonic air streams are published as protecting filter and motor life, which is a durability claim rather than a suction claim
Where it stops
−Ten minutes of runtime against a four-hour charge is the worst ratio on this page
−The published 0.1-quart dust cup contradicts the XL dust cup in the model's own name, and Shark publishes no figure that resolves it
−No suction figure in any unit, so it cannot be compared numerically with anything
Who it is for
A car that carries a shedding animal, cleaned in short bursts rather than in one long session.
Skip it if
You are cleaning a whole car in one go. Ten minutes covers a front footwell and a seat, not a family SUV, and there is no second battery to swap in.
Our score: 7.0 out of 10
Published power7.5
Runtime5.5
Bin and filtration5.5
In-car handling8.0
Running cost8.5
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
06 · Names a test standard
Shark WANDVAC Power Pet Cordless Hand Vacuum (WV410BL)
The only hand vac on this site whose suction claim names a test standard (ASTM F558), in a 1.5 lb body with a boost mode and a dock — and a runtime the listing manages to contradict itself on.
"The most suction of any cordless hand vacuum under 1.5 lbs", based on ASTM F558, tested against stand-alone cordless hand vacuums. No figure is published
Rated runtime
Not reliably published. The listing's runtime field prints 50 minutes; its bullet claims 50% more than the original WANDVAC, which Shark rates at 10 minutes in standard mode, and 50% more than 10 is 15
Battery
14.4 V per the voltage field; the battery description field on the same listing says 10.85 V
Modes
Standard plus a Boost button
Weight
1.5 lb
Dust cup
0.1 quarts, detachable, with one-touch emptying
Filtration
Fabric filter in a removable housing. No HEPA claim
Tools
Pet tool with bristle brush, duster crevice tool, both stored on the charging dock
Warranty
2-year limited
Charge time
Not published
Rated noise
Not published
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+Names ASTM F558 behind its suction claim, which makes it the only checkable suction statement on this page without a Dyson price
+1.5 lb with a boost mode, a pet tool and a dock that stores both tools
+Two-year warranty from the brand that still sells parts for the original WANDVAC
Where it stops
−The runtime field and the runtime bullet cannot both be true, and Shark publishes no third figure to settle it
−0.1 quarts ties the Shark CH951 for the smallest published dust cup here, a fraction of the Black+Decker bowls
−The pet tool is a bristle brush, not a motorized one — it does not turn
Who it is for
Someone who wants the lightest serious hand vac, lives with it on a dock in the kitchen, and will empty a small cup often rather than carry a big one.
Skip it if
You need to know how long it runs before you buy. Shark's own listing gives two incompatible answers, and the plausible one is about 15 minutes.
Our score: 6.7 out of 10
Published power8.0
Runtime5.0
Bin and filtration4.5
In-car handling9.0
Running cost7.0
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
07 · Charges from USB
Shark Cyclone PET Handheld Vacuum (CH701)
A 1.5 lb hand vac that charges from any USB port, with a washable filter and two tools — and a 7.2-volt battery, a ten-minute runtime and a warranty the listing does not state.
Amazon listed this as out of stock on our last check. We have left it in the ranking because the machine is still worth the recommendation — but do not expect to buy it today.
1.6 lb per the bullet; 1.5 lb per the item weight field
Dust cup
Described as XL. Not published as a volume; the capacity field prints "1.5 pounds"
Filtration
Washable foam filter. No HEPA claim
Rated noise
80 dB
Tools
8-inch crevice tool and a multi-surface pet tool
Agitation
None. The pet tool is not motorized
Charge time
Not published
Warranty
Not stated. The listing's warranty field reads only "Warranty."
Suction in air watts or Pa
Not published. The listing prints 65 watts and 9 amps, which cannot both describe a 7.2-volt hand vac
Every figure above is the manufacturer's own published number. Where a manufacturer publishes nothing, the row says "Not published" rather than an estimate.
What the numbers say
+USB charging means it charges from the same brick as a phone, in a drawer, a car or a desk, with no proprietary dock to find room for
+1.5 lb, with a washable filter and both tools in the box
+One of the cheaper brand-name hand vacs on this page
Where it stops
−7.2 volts is the lowest battery voltage here, and voltage is one of the few figures that is comparable across brands
−Ten minutes of runtime, and no charge time published to weigh it against
−No warranty term stated anywhere on the listing, which is unusual for Shark
Who it is for
A desk, a dorm or a small apartment, where the machine lives in a drawer, charges from a phone charger and cleans a keyboard, a counter and a car seat.
Skip it if
You want a warranty you can read before you buy. Every other brand-name machine on this page publishes a term; this listing does not.
Our score: 6.4 out of 10
Published power5.5
Runtime5.5
Bin and filtration5.0
In-car handling9.0
Running cost7.0
Scored against the published rubric on How We Pick. These are judgments about spec sheets, not measurements.
The ones to skip
The Bissell Pet Hair Eraser 2390A would be on this page if you could reliably buy it. It publishes a motorized brush, a 0.18-gallon bowl and 17 minutes of runtime, and it ranks second on the car page. But Amazon has flipped it between in stock and out of stock four times in the last week, and it was out of stock on the day this page was written, so we are not ranking a machine we cannot send you to. If the car page shows it back in stock when you read this, it is a real alternative to the furbuster — with double the charge time (480 minutes) and half the warranty (one year).
Skip the 8-volt dustbuster QuickClean (HNVC215B10) for a house. It is the cheapest brand-name hand vac on this site and it earns its place on the car page as a spot vacuum for a cupholder and a dash. But 8 volts is half the voltage of the 16-volt dustbuster, it publishes 9 minutes of runtime against a 600-minute charge, and its 0.09-gallon bowl fills on one shelf of crumbs. For not much more, the CHV1410L doubles the voltage, more than doubles the bowl and charges in less than half the time.
Skip the original Shark WANDVAC (WV201) now that the Power Pet exists. It is on the car page for one reason — 1.4 lb on a dock — and the WV410 on this page weighs a tenth of a pound more, adds a boost mode and a pet tool, names a test standard for its suction, and publishes the same two-year warranty. The original's ten-minute runtime is the shortest on that page, and its one advantage, a published HEPA filter, is a claim without a named standard.
And skip the pascal listings. The hand vac aisle is thick with machines advertising 16,000 Pa and 20,000 Pa for less than the price of a replacement filter, from sellers with no model number you could search for and no warranty term at all. Not one of the eight brand-name machines here publishes a pascal figure, and that is the tell: pascals measure sealed static pressure with the airway blocked, no two sellers measure it the same way, and the brands with a parts network to protect generally do not use the unit.
What they cost to run
There is no electricity table on this page, and that is deliberate. A cordless hand vac draws power only while charging, and not one of the eight manufacturers publishes charger consumption, so any three-year figure would be a guess. What we can say is that the number would be small — these are batteries measured in tens of watt-hours — and that electricity is not the cost of owning a hand vac.The same is true of every cordless machine on this site.
The costs are the filter and the battery. Five of the seven publish a washable filter — both Black+Decker AdvancedClean models, the furbuster, the Shark CH951 and the Shark CH701 — which puts their filter cost at zero. The Shark WANDVAC Power Pet publishes a removable fabric filter without saying whether it is washable, and the Dyson publishes a filtration percentage without describing the filter's maintenance at all. The battery is sealed in every machine here, none of them publishes a cycle rating, and when the cell fades the machine is replaced rather than repaired. That is why the warranty column carries so much weight in the ranking: it is the only published figure that says anything about how long the maker expects the thing to last.
What a hand vac cannot do
It cannot clean a floor. Ten to twenty minutes and a 0.1-to-0.18-gallon bowl are the specifications of a spot tool, and using one on a room is how people conclude that hand vacs are useless. It cannot pull hair out of fabric without a motorized tool, whatever the suction claim says. It cannot pick up liquid — every machine here is dry-only, and a wet spill needs a wet/dry vac or, on carpet and upholstery, a portable carpet cleaner. And it cannot be left to fade in a drawer for a month and then work: a lithium cell stored flat is the most common reason a hand vac is thrown away.
We have not used any of these machines and we will not imply otherwise. A spec sheet cannot tell you how a nozzle sits against a couch seam, whether a one-touch bowl actually empties without a second shake, or how a battery holds up after two years on a dock. Our method page states exactly where our evidence stops.
How to choose in one paragraph
If there is a pet, buy the Black+Decker furbuster — it is the only machine here with a motorized brush, a boost mode, a 20-minute runtime and a two-year warranty all at once. If nobody sheds, buy the 16-volt dustbuster CHV1410L and spend the difference on something else. If you want a dock and the longer 20-volt runtime without the pet brush, the BDH2000L is that machine, and it is the only one here that states its runtime as a minimum. For ground-in pet hair in short bursts, the Shark CH951 has a self-cleaning power brush and a four-hour charge. If weight is everything, the Shark WANDVAC Power Pet is 1.5 lb with a boost mode and the only suction claim here that names a test standard. If you want a machine that charges from a phone brick, the Shark CH701 is the one. And if you want the most powerful hand vac with a published figure to prove it, the Dyson Car+Boat is that machine, at flagship money.
Common questions
What is the best handheld vacuum?+−
On published specifications, the Black+Decker dustbuster furbuster HHVK515JP07: a motorized anti-tangle pet brush, a boost mode, 20 minutes of runtime on a four-hour charge, a 0.18-gallon bowl and a two-year warranty. No other hand vac here publishes all of those. If nobody in the house sheds, the 16-volt dustbuster CHV1410L does the everyday job for less.
Are handheld vacuums worth it?+−
For two-minute jobs — counters, stairs, the couch, a car seat — yes, because the whole value is in how quickly you can reach for it. A hand vac on a kitchen dock gets used far more often than a stick in an upstairs closet. If you already own a cordless stick that converts to a handheld and keep it where the messes happen, you may not need one.
How long should a handheld vacuum battery last?+−
Rated runtimes on this page run from 10 to 20 minutes, with the Dyson publishing up to 50. For a hand vac the more useful figure is charge time, which is 240 minutes on every machine here that publishes it, because a hand vac's job is being ready rather than running long. Nobody on this shelf publishes a battery cycle rating, so how many years the cell lasts is not something the listings will tell you.
Which handheld vacuum is best for pet hair?+−
The ones with a motorized brush, because airflow alone does not pull hair out of fabric. Three machines here publish one: the Black+Decker furbuster, the Dyson Car+Boat and the Shark UltraCyclone Pet Pro+ CH951. The Shark pet tools on this page are bristle brushes, not driven ones, and the listings do not make that distinction obvious.
Are Dyson handheld vacuums worth the money?+−
The Dyson Car+Boat publishes the only suction figure on this page in a comparable unit (115 air watts), the longest rated runtime (up to 50 minutes, footnoted), a motorized tool and a filtration percentage with a particle size attached. What it does not publish is a charge time or a noise rating, and it weighs 4.2 lb where the rest of the page weighs 1.5 to 3.5. Whether that is worth several times the price of a machine with a motorized pet brush is the decision; the specifications cannot make it for you.
How many volts should a handheld vacuum have?+−
Voltage is the one figure on this shelf that is comparable across brands, and it runs from 7.2 V (Shark CH701) to 20 V (the two 20-volt Black+Deckers) here. It is a proxy for motor power rather than a measurement of suction, so a higher voltage is a reasonable tiebreaker between two machines and a poor reason to buy one over the other on its own.
Can a handheld vacuum replace a regular vacuum?+−
No. Ten to twenty minutes of runtime and a bowl of 0.1 quarts to 0.18 gallons are spot-tool figures. A hand vac handles a counter, a set of stairs or a car seat; a room needs a floor vacuum, and the budget cordless roundup on this site covers machines that do both jobs by converting to a handheld.
Why do handheld vacuum listings publish such odd wattage figures?+−
We do not know, and we will not guess. What we found is that several listings print a wattage or amperage that cannot describe a battery hand vac at all — 20 amps on a 24-watt machine, a wattage field that reads "23" with no unit — while the figures that are consistent describe electricity drawn rather than dirt lifted. We transcribe what is printed and flag it rather than pick the flattering number.
Sources
Manufacturer-published specifications — Every runtime, wattage, capacity, weight, filtration and warranty figure quoted on this page is the manufacturer's own published number for that model, retrieved September 1, 2026. Where a manufacturer publishes no figure, the page says 'Not published' rather than estimating one.
ASTM F558 — standard test method for measuring air performance characteristics of vacuum cleaners — Named by Shark on the WANDVAC Power Pet WV410BL listing behind its claim of the most suction of any cordless hand vacuum under 1.5 lb. Shark publishes the standard but not the measured figure, so the claim is checkable in principle and unquantified in practice.
Sweep & Suction — How We Pick — Our published method, including the scoring rubric, the three-year running-cost formula and an explicit statement of what published specifications cannot tell you.